My Next Big Adventure

This is my second attempt of starting a blog. The last one I was not really sure what I was doing; too nervous to really share it with anyone. But since my life is about to change in a big way, where I’ll be a long way away from anyone I know, I’ve decided to recreate my blog.

Just a year ago I used to be one of those people who never really thought about travelling and I had only visited a couple of countries before. I used to think it was a bit overrated and I thought I would never have the opportunity and that I didn’t have anyone to go with. I was very wrong there. In less than a year I have visited seven countries across three continents, going with multiple different friends and making more along the way! It has been the best year of my life!

I’ve now travelled around a fair bit in Europe, visiting Auschwitz in Poland and adsorbing a lot of Scandinavian culture. I have also been to Africa, something I never thought I would do, visiting a tiny country called The Gambia (I would have totally recommended this if you were up for a different kind of sunny holiday, but if you’ve seen the news recently, I’m not sure it’s the best place to visit right now.) I also plucked up some sort of courage and travelled alone to America to do a Trek America tour. This was the best decision I had ever made. (Below I’ve copied and pasted the Facebook status I wrote when I came back, hoping it sounds as good as it did the first time I shared it).

Over the past 2/3 weeks I have done a lot of things I never thought I would ever do. I travelled internationally for the first time, I travelled alone for the first time. I went to Hollywood and Universal Studios. I went to Hogwarts and was chosen by Ollivander. I nearly got attacked by a sea lion and I drank beer at a baseball game. I stood on Tatooine, hiked the Grand Canyon and then saw the wonder from a helicopter. I gambled in Vegas and partied in Caesar’s Palace. One day I was standing in the hottest place in North America, the next I was having snowball fights in Yosemite. I hiked alongside a waterfall, then stood on the edge. I walked across the Golden Gate Bridge and visited Alcatraz. I saw sunsets and stars I never knew existed. Oh, and I also had an ice cream on Venice Beach. Best of all, I got to do it with an amazing group of people. If there is anyone who isn’t sure about travelling, like I was, do it. It’s better to regret doing something than not doing it at all and I don’t regret a single moment of this trip.

So now I’ve quit my job and booked a one-way ticket to Australia, leaving on Valentine’s Day. Only 2 days away and it still has not fully sunk in what I’m actually about to do. I’m going with a very rough plan where the only things I’ve decided is to start in Sydney, travel along the East Coast towards Cairns and eventually fly over to New Zealand where I have already booked a Stray Travel Pass. And then hopefully I can spend about a week in Fiji. No words can really explain how excited I am. When I was younger, I told myself I would never go to Australia because of the spiders, but they didn’t even cross my mind when I was booking the flight.

I’m hoping to be able to stay out there for at least 6 months, but the beauty of not having set plans is that I can change what I do whenever I really like. I’m sure like many others I’ll get homesick at some stage, but to quote Jim Broadbent in the movie Brooklyn, ‘Homesickness is like any other sickness. It will make you feel wretched but will then move on to someone else.’

I’m going to try and update this blog at least once a week, mainly to let my family know I am safe and haven’t been attacked by a shark. But for now, I should probably try and finish my packing or even apply for my NZ visa… And I’ve just realised I do not have any sun cream; will probably need that.

Leave a Reply

